Geschichte Namangan

The pages of past centuries

The word Namangan derived from the Persian Namak kan and can be translated as salt mine.

Archaeological excavations have revealed the existence of settlements in the territory of the town in the first century AD. The town was first mentioned in the autobiography of Babur "Baburname."

Namangan was a part of the Kokand Khanate. Despite wars and raids there was a well-developed horticulture, sericulture, trade with China, Bukhara and the neighboring nomadic tribes.

In 1875 the city was forcibly annexed by the Russian Empire, in spite of the fierce rebellion of local residents, which was brutally beaten. After turning on the territory of the Kokand khanate of the empire became the center of the county of Fergana, Namangan region.

Some sights are particularly noteworthy: the mausoleum Hodzhamny-Cabra, (XVIII century). Some elements such as whimsical tiles, multicolor embossed lining irrigation that decorated the building mausoleums can bewitch any visitor. The madrassas Mullah Kyrgyz Republic 1910, the mosque Atavalihona, Attavalik-Hontur mosque and the mosque of Mullah bozori Ohunda, home of the Sultan Akhmedov XIX c.

Namangan Park (1884) was the first garden of the district chief. To public access became available in 1917. The park is located in the center of the city, leading to it 12 city streets and its territory is about 14 hectares.

With Peopletravel you have a chance to enjoy the beauty of this bewitching city and beautiful nature.

Planen Sie die Reise Ihrer Träume!

Planen Sie die Reise Ihrer Träume!

Unsicher, welche Tour Sie wählen sollen über Usbekistan?

Senden Sie eine Anfrage an unsere Experten!
Wir freuen uns, Ihnen eine einzigartige Reiselösung anzubieten

Mit dem Klicken auf 'Anfrage senden' stimmen Sie den Bedingungen des öffentlichen Angebots zu und geben Ihre Zustimmung zur Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten.